Evenings at the Crow Park

img_20160223_182529

Ever since the Crow park (CP) has been renovated, I go for evening walks there. The park isn’t like a usual place for me.. whenever I’m there, I feel an urge to scribble down what I see….The name is given by myself, as the park gives shelter to an abundant number of crows. At dusk, the black birds can be seen settling in on the tree tops with so much noise. The chances of getting blessings (droppings) from the birds are more during this time.

The plush green lawn in the park is surrounded by a neat paved walkway. A portion is developed into kids play area with slides and swings. Another portion is dedicated for exercise equipments. In the middle there is a new statue of a man standing on the earth, holding a creeper plant in hand… I guessed it meant something like ’embracing nature’. The park is huge when compared to other ones in our neighborhood. Hence I find the place comfortable for jogging.

After two rounds around the park, I stopped to take a breath. A lady who looked in her 60’s overtook me swiftly. She wore a salwar kameez and did slow jogging. Inspired by her spirit, I started off again for another round.

The crowd is less in the CP, which motivates me to sit back and relax after my walk/run. While I relaxed, I observe the people around briefly.. Today, a baby was sitting on the grass with her father, both of them having a good bonding time. A group of boys were busy playing some games. A few elderly people were taking their strolls along the walkway. Some determined house wives were working on the exercise machines.

I felt a kind of bonding with the strangers I met there. We were all equals, like from the same family..we came to the CP to shed off worries, improve health, cleanse the mind and be Happy. A solo bat flew across the sky, it looked as if it conveyed a silent message ‘I watch you all from above, thus I know you all’…

My iPod played a beautiful Hindi playlist. Suddenly my face had a smile, there was no reason for it..it was a smile, a simple gesture of happiness. After some stretches, I walked back home. On the way, I tried to smile at strangers crossing my way…they looked confused. I continued to smile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

